reversed flight

wood snaps under my feet
as i sink through a whirlpool of splinters
the shape of the broken boards
momentarily cradling my tightly curled body before
collapsing and
falling away

i close my eyes
hands reaching for the falling sun
while i travel down into faded gold and orange reflections
face tilted back for a last glance of the burning clouds
as i enter the world
hidden under the water’s skin

mouth gaping and trying to pull in
just one more lungful
something to bring with me and hold onto
when the colors fade into a velvety blackness

in the distance up above me
i can see little pinpricks touching the surface
as tiny raindrops press into the lake’s body

baby oceans descending from the sky
stretching
d
e
e
p

d
o
w
n

and trying to reach me as i float
further into my gravity-sunk sky

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

